Tech Savvy

I like to think that I’m pretty intuitive when it comes to working with computers and websites. I used to work customer service at a college helpdesk, I have to have some decent technical problem solving skills, right? I’ve found out recently that I’m not as smart as I like to think I am.

Now, when it comes to my family, I’m DEFINITELY the most tech savvy. My dad and brothers will message me about something and I don’t even live in the same state as them anymore. Let me tell you, trying to help them fix a technical problem over the phone is not easy. I have a new-found respect for Information Technology (IT for short) workers who have to deal with customers complaining to them about computer issues. Having to fix it over the phone when you can’t see the thing in front of you is a very daunting task. Thankfully, my families issues are not difficult to solve.

However, I’ve recently begun exploring this site to see whether I enjoy it more than Tumblr or BlogHer, but I couldn’t never figure out how to manage the settings. I had a friend look at my page and she said I had to enable comments so people could comment on my blog…well it took me forever to figure it out because there’s a settings section for the blog itself, a settings for other blogs (if you have more than one), a settings for your profile, AND a settings for your “My Sites” dashboard thing. I’m pretty sure there’s another Settings option elsewhere on this site that I’m missing, too. There are so many different ways to get to the different Settings options (and they all do different things, mind you) that I just gave up and didn’t want to deal with it anymore.

The worst part is I couldn’t even find an option to help me with this. I tried googling it and that didn’t show me anything. I’ve been logging onto this site every couple of days for about two weeks to try and figure it out. Or at least find a clue that would tell me where I had to go. I would spend about an hour before giving up trying to see what I was doing wrong, where I would need to enable to comments. Yes, I spent 7 hours of my life that I will never get back trying to fix it.

FINALLY, I found a help option to turn comments on or off…go figure I already have comments enabled and I didn’t need to change anything. So I definitely wasted 7 hours of my life that didn’t even need to happen. This is my life, people. The struggles of being weird and slightly incompetent, haha.

Leave a Reply

