Monday Morning with No Coffee

I left for work this morning and already knew it was going to be an off day. Somehow I hadn’t allotted myself enough time to make myself coffee this morning. My feet were dragging a little more than usual this morning. We also have been required to tighten our budget lately so I wasn’t able to stop and buy myself some coffee. You might ask whether my day job at the office offers free coffee. Why, yes it does! However, the ass-hat that brews the coffee in the morning likes to make it ridiculously strong so that no amount of creamer and/or sugar can make it any less bitter and disgusting. I understand that some people like their coffee that way…but they should be considerate of those of us who cannot stand it.

The weird part is I never used to drink coffee. My dad did and I never understood his need to drink it every morning. I was addicted to Mountain Dew, but I never saw the similarities in his addiction to my own. Of course, I don’t know how long my dad used to drink it during the day, but I would drink two bottles of Mountain Dew at school, and then go home and drink two or three cans before bed. In an attempt to become more healthy as I’ve gotten older, I’ve tried to get rid of soda in my diet. Not caffeine because I know that I will forever need caffeine in my life to function normally.

I discovered my love for coffee when I met my dear friend Kristin while at my old job we like to call ABC. It’s an acronym for the company name but I won’t reveal that since I still have issues with how they let me go. The point is, when I met her she introduced me to the wonderful world that is iced coffee. I had enjoyed a frappe from McDonald’s once in a while, but I never got hardcore into coffee until Kristin made me one. I still tried to keep my love for Mountain Dew in the mix but soon coffee had taken over and Mountain Dew was out of the picture.

It didn’t take me long to realize how expensive it is to buy yourself coffee every day. Especially if you buy Starbucks. I don’t go there very often, I prefer a local coffee shop, but the place I love can be just as expensive. They are about $5 for a large coffee so if you’re buying one every day…that’s $25 a week, $100 a month, and $1200 a year just on buying yourself coffee every day before work. Once I purchased my own coffee maker, I was a goner though. A coffee lover for the rest of my life.

I normally make coffee every morning so I have it when I go to work. I’m actually a morning person so as long as I shower in the morning, I can get ready for work and walk out the door just fine. I don’t need coffee until about an hour into my shift when sleepiness starts to hit me. If I don’t have coffee, then I start to get really scatterbrained and unable to concentrate on anything. For example, I’ve been at work for about 3 hours and 40 minutes and all I’ve done work-related was print off about 15 sheets of paper and write a few words on them. I can’t seem to get myself moving. I work in an office that requires me to do a lot of data entry so I’m able to hide the fact I’m not working much really well.

I’ve also been trying to cut back on how much coffee I drink so I can start drinking more water and lose some weight. I’m attempting to be healthy. So, instead of preparing an 18 ounce cup of coffee with creamer and sugar to take to work with me, I would prepare one solitary 8 ounce cup of iced coffee and drink it before walking out the door. That way, I drink water all day long and can still work relatively well with the small amount of caffeine in my system. The only problem I’ve come across is how sleepy I am at the end of the day. It makes for a somewhat restless sleep so I wake up more tired than the morning before. This means I drag my feet more and therefore lose time to make coffee. It’s a catch 22 and I’m not enjoying it.

I either can’t be healthy and drink more coffee, or I have to get up earlier so that I have time to make myself a pot of coffee. I don’t like either option. Who wants to wake up early to get ready for work? I know I don’t. Unfortunately, a choice must be made, because I cannot have another morning like this. I need my caffeine fix…

At this point, I have a few options: buy myself a soda from the vending machine, attempt to swallow some of the horribly strong coffee, or suffer without any caffeine in my system. With trying to be healthy, I’ve limited myself to only having soda when I’m out at a movie or out to dinner. I don’t do these things very often so it’s a viable limitation. Either way this choice isn’t possible because I have no change or cash in my wallet today so I can’t have soda. After relying on coffee for so long, soda just doesn’t seem to do the trick anymore anyways.

My next option is to attempt the gross strong coffee. I hate the fact I can’t drink strong coffee because I’ve been watching Gilmore Girls on Netflix (it’s a guilty pleasure, don’t judge me), so I want to be cool like them and just drink straight coffee, but it’s just too bitter. I refuse to subject myself to this torture. I really should have brought my creamer from home to see if that would help, but then again there’s just no saving it so it would have just been a waste. I don’t want to waste my good creamer on bad coffee.

Which leaves me with suffering. Water isn’t waking me up but at least it’s healthy and good for me. I hate how often it makes me pee, but hopefully its flushing out my system. As the day goes on, I’ll probably slowly wake back up it will just take some time. From now on I wake up 15 minutes earlier so I can make sure to have enough time for coffee. Monday morning without coffee is not good; I don’t even wish that on my worst enemy. If I had any…

Leave a Reply

