#NeverForget

“In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.
The same was in the beginning with God.
All things were made by him; and without him was not anything made that was made.
In him was life; and the life was the light of men.
And the light shineth in the darkness; and the darkness comprehended it not.”
-John 1-5, KJV

I was getting ready this morning and wasn’t aware of what day it was until I was driving to work and heard on the radio about all the tributes going on today for those that died. This wasn’t until after I dropped the kids off at school that I realized this. I find it interesting because the oldest girl was memorizing the above verses for her bible quiz today and I thought it was fitting when I realized it’s the anniversary of the terrorist attack that brought down the Twin Towers. I may not understand the words as I’ve never read or studied the bible, but it felt right hearing these words on such a day. I’ll probably be saying them to myself all day long and into the evening.

I remember where I was the day it happened. I was only 12 years old but I know exactly where I was and what I was doing when I heard what happened. I remember as if it were yesterday. I don’t think I could forget even if I tried. The memory is burned into my brain for the rest of my life.

I was sitting in the middle of the room in my Tech Ed class where I was the only girl. We had finished everything for the day and our teacher always let us watch a little tv while we waited for the bell to ring. Well, the news was showing the Twin Towers plane crashes. The plane crash with the Pentagon and the crash in Pennsylvania hadn’t  happened yet. I remember watching in awe, staring at the tv screen wondering what was going on and why the planes had crashed into these buildings.

I don’t remember the bell ringing, leaving the room, or even going home that day. Sitting in that seat watching the footage on the news with my backpack on and leaning over my desk is all I can remember of that day. I remember being grateful that I didn’t know anyone involved and mourning those that were lost and those who lost someone because of this moment in history. It’s strange knowing that future generations will only hear about it in text books when we lived it. I can already see myself in a position when my grandkids are asking me, “Grandma, tell us about the Twin Towers! Was it scary??” in the same manor I would ask my grandmother about the Great Depression or WWII.

When you read and learn about history in school you don’t realize you might be witness to history yourself and how there will be a time when there is few left who were there to remember it. In school, you focus on learning so you can pass tests, forgetting that these were once significant times and how those who were alive to see it may have felt. I suddenly feel old knowing this one moment in history is something I’ll be telling my grandchildren about. You don’t think about how it made others feel when they recall something from history that they were there for. I never realized how important it was to recognize those feelings until I had a time of my own to recall.

This is my way of paying tribute. Not only to those who were lost and are still mourning the loss of loved ones from 14 years ago, but for those who had to be a witness to tragic events throughout history. I recognize the pain and awe you felt seeing these tragedies. I see your anguish knowing future generations will never understand what it was like. I know your despair over the lives that were wrongly affected by the misgivings. I understand your fear. I will never forget.

Leave a Reply

